Skip to main content

Today's Family Magazine

New state of Ohio laws for 2019 that you should be aware of

Jun 25, 2019 04:41PM
Some Ohio state laws have changed.  Keeping up with these changes are important as they may affect your life.  Here are a few of the laws:

Cursive Handwriting:  HB 58
The Ohio Department of Education must now make sure all students can read and write printed letters by third grade and cursive by fifth.

Illegal Actions While Driving:  HB 95
Law enforcement officers are not required to prove that a driver is texting, but only that a moving violation has occurred, and/or that the driver was distracted at the time. Illegal Actions while driving would be writing, sending, or reading text messages; using cell phone or the Internet; holding pets; putting on makeup; any act the officer deems is impairing the driving.

Expungement:  SB 66 (Sealing a criminal record)
This process seals the record from public view, but is not destroyed.  Citizens with additional convictions, including multiple felony convictions, can apply. 

If your case was dismissed, or you were found not guilty, you may apply for an expungement immediately. 

People convicted of both misdemeanor and felony offenses are required to wait a certain period of time before they apply.  Those waiting periods are:
  • Misdemeanors: One year after the offender’s final discharge.
  • Bail forfeiture in misdemeanor cases: One year from the date on which the bail forfeiture was entered upon the minutes of the court or the journal, whichever entry occurs first.
  • One felony: Three years after the offender’s final discharge.
  • Two F4/F5 felonies: Four years after the offender’s final discharge.
  • Three F4/F5 felonies: Five years after the offender’s final discharge.
The following cannot be expunged:  Convictions subject to a mandatory prison term; sex offenses; traffic offenses (speeding, OVI, or reckless operation); offenses of violence (misdemeanor of the first degree or a felony); convictions on or after October 10, 2007; multiple convictions of an identical offense. 

There may be other exceptions.  Contact Kurt Law for a free case review.

Child Support:  HB366 (effective March 28, 2019)
Here are some of the highlights:
  1. If you make $14,000 per year or less, the new monthly minimum per child will be $80 per month (it used to be $50 per month).
  2. If your parenting time is greater than 90 overnights per year, your child support obligation could be reduced.  If your parenting time is greater than 147 overnights per year, the court is required to either reduce your child support or explain in writing the reasoning for not doing so.
  3. The parent who receives child support will be responsible for providing health insurance coverage.  The parent who pays the health insurance can deduct that cost.
  4. If you are paying child support to multiple people, your payments may increase.  The new law requires that each child receive at least a basic, standard amount.
If the “new” laws affect you, contact Kurt Law at (440) 516-1010 for a free consultation.  Visit kurtlaw.com for more info and for an office nearest you.  They can help!